In recognition of a patron.
Lady May Kindergarten opened in 1957.
It was opened by Mr R. McKenzie, son of the late Sir John McKenzie and Lady May McKenzie (who was one-time patron of the committee).
Some time before he died, Sir John donated £1,000 to the Christchurch Free Kindergarten Association to build a kindergarten in Upper Riccarton if the local committee could raise a similar amount.
It did and the kindergarten that stands there today is the end result.
Since then, of course, thousands of children have run and skipped through its gate and enjoyed the wealth of experience it brings to the community.
Our website uses material from the Canterbury Westland Kindergarten Association's own archives, Kindergarten Chronicles and other CWFKA publications, and those sourced from the kindys themselves. Unless otherwise noted, we believe all photographs are those of the kindergarten association and sincerely apologise if we have used any images inadvertently, without appropriate credits or permissions. If so, please advise us so we can rectify the situation.
KIDSFIRST KINDERGARTENS ARE A NOT FOR PROFIT ASSOCIATION THAT HAS DEVELOPED AND MAINTAINED KINDERGARTENS IN CHRISTCHURCH, CANTERBURY AND ON THE WEST COAST FOR OVER 100 YEARS - AS THE PLACE LOCAL KIDS COME TO LEARN, PLAY AND HAVE FUN.